Carly's Wicked Blog

Keep Calm and Love Turtles

I am from…

November22

I am from tattered dog leashes,
From fuzzy, purple lamps and too many books.
I am from the light blue house with the red star,
The smell of wet dog.

I am from winter’s first snow,
The “climbing tree” whose thin branches took me higher than ever before.

I’m from dirty-blonde hair and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer,
From Cheyenne and Peter.
I’m from American Idol and the Boston Marathon,
And from squinted-eyed smiles.

I’m from “I love you as big as the sky” and “Different strokes for different folks”,
And “Make new friends but keep the old…”.

I’m from Florida vacations.
I’m from Scituate, Massachusetts and Ireland,
Brownies and grilled cheese sandwiches.

From stories of my grandfather,
Reminding me how much I wish I could have met him.

A lifetime of memories,
Forever remembered in my heart.
These are the memories that make me who I am.

by posted under Fun | 4 Comments »    
4 Comments to

“I am from…”

  1. November 24th, 2013 at 4:53 am      Reply lschoch Says:

    American Idol and the Boston Marathon…two of my favorites!


  2. November 24th, 2013 at 8:31 am      Reply carlyr533 Says:

    Mine too! American Idol is my mom and I’s tradition, and it’s one of the few things we can bond over because my dad and sister don’t watch it. The Boston Marathon was something my mom, dad, and their friends used to run every year when we still lived in Scituate. My mom flew up to Boston to run it a couple times after we moved here, but she stopped eventually. When the bombs went off, it really hit home.


  3. December 3rd, 2013 at 4:23 pm      Reply alissat513 Says:

    I love american idol to! My favorite line was “Im from the smell of wet dog”.


  4. December 7th, 2013 at 5:23 am      Reply lschoch Says:

    I am super impressed with the Boston Marathon! I can only imagine how much the bombing incident bothered her!


Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

Recent Comments



Skip to toolbar